TIFTON — Qualifying for the 2019 local elections opens for Tifton, Ty Ty and Omega on Monday, Aug. 19.

Anyone wishing to run for a local elected office must be at least 21 years of age, must have lived in the city limits for at least 12 months and must live in the district for which they are running.

Tifton will be holding elections for the office of mayor and for two council seats.

The current mayor is Julie Smith, and the council seats up for reelection are seats representing district 2, currently held by Jack Folk, and district 4, currently held by Frank Sayles, Jr. All three have said they are running for reelection.

Qualifying opens on Aug. 19 at 8:30 a.m. and will run through Friday, Aug. 23 at 4:30 p.m.

Anyone wishing to run for any of the seats will need to visit the city clerk’s office in Tifton City Hall, located at 130 E. 1st St., fill out the qualifying packet and pay the fee, which is $288 for mayor and $207 for the council seats.

Ty Ty

Three Ty Ty city council seats are up for reelection this year.

Council post 1 is currently held by Jamie Lavender, council post 3 is currently held by Malcolm Kelley and council post 5 is currently held by Shirley Strawter.

Qualifying will run Aug. 19 through Aug. 23 during normal business hours. Those wishing to run for an elected office will need to visit the city clerk’s office, located at 141 East Elman St., Ty Ty, fill out notice of candidacy and pay a $54 fee.


Omega has two seats up for reelection: the office of mayor, which is currently held by Ray Hunt, Jr., and the city council seat representing post 5, which is currently held by Ernest Harris.

Anyone wishing to run for office will need to go to the city clerk’s office in city hall, located at 5518 Alabama Ave. Omega to fill out paperwork and pay the qualifying fee. The fee for mayor is $100.70 and the fee for the council seat $37.68.

The election will be held on Tuesday, Nov. 5.

React to this story:


Recommended for you