Five contested races in Worth County will be decided by voters this year as qualifying for local races ended Friday around the area.

In Sylvester, three county commission seats are up for grabs while there is competition in two of the three school board races.

In the County Commission District 2 race, Republican Fred Dent will face Democrat Danny Culpepper in November. In the August primary, Democrats Bettye Bozeman and Jamie Adams will vie for the District 3 seat, which has no Republican candidate.

In District 4, Democrats Billy McDonald and Johnny Smoak will face off in August with the winner facing Republican Jack Bass in the general election.

Two school board races will be decided in August as Democrats Glenn Floyd and Grady C. Morey vie for the chairman's position and Republicans Randy Bacon and John Mitchell are running for the District 4 seat. Melvin Jefferson is unopposed in District 1.

In Berrien County, there are three contested races. For the Board of Education Post 2, incumbent Joe Sizemore will face Charlotte Dasher-Cook while incumbent Steve Dixon faces opposition from Terry Danforth for the Post 5 seat. Ricky Tucker will run unopposed for the Post 4 position.

In the county commission Post 3 race, incumbent Greg McLean will meet Steve Roberts.

In Fitzgerald, four contenders are challenging for the Board of Education District 7 race. David A. Evans, Jamie J. Baggett, Tommy F. Brown and Jesse Dykes will all vie for the spot while Tom Mann, Bill Marsh and George H. Whatley are in contention for the District 3.

Tim Pugh in District 2 and Shirley Brooks in District 1 are both running unopposed. All of the races in Ben Hill County are non-partisan.

In Ashburn, incumbent Jack Paulk will face off against Bussey Coker in the race for the District 5 County Commission seat while incumbent Joe Burgess is unopposed in District 1. Freddy Weston and Mary Frances Office qualified to run for the Turner County Board of Education Post 1 seat vacated after the recent death of Corley McMillian.

McMillian served for over 30 years in Turner County education, retiring as principal olf Turner County Middle School. He died at age 60 on June 14.

Also, incumbent Susan Gandy will run against Sam McCard for the Post 3 Board of Education seat. All of those races will be decided in the August primary because all of the challengers are Democrats.

In Cook County, the only contested race is for the District 5 Board of Education seat. Democrats John A. "Laddie" Durden, the incumbent, and Bem Daughtrey will square off in August and the winner will face Republican Chris Walker in November. Dale V. Boone is running unopposed for the District 3 seat.

In Irwin County, all three Board of Education races had only single qualifiers. David Martin in District 1, John Hudson in District 3 and Sylvia Lockett in District 5 all qualified.

The primary will be held on August 20 while the general election will be held Nov. 5.

React to this story:


Trending Video