ASHBURN - District 2 Commissioner Daryl Hall was named Turner County Commission chairman Monday at the county commission's first meeting of 2003, replacing outgoing chairman Jack Paulk.

Paulk was defeated in the November election for the District 5 seat by Bussey Coker.

Under Turner County statutes, the Turner County chairman and vice chairman are chosen by other commissioners. Darrel Dukes was elected vice chairman.

Commissioners also voted to apply for an $80,000 Department of Natural Resources grant with the help of the South Georgia Regional Development Center. Andrea Gearhart of the RDC told the commission the "scrap tire" grant could be used to hire a compliance officer to coordinate prevention of illegal dumping or to buy a vehicle or other equipment for the program.

Similar programs are already under way in Tift, Thomas and Worth counties, Gearhart said.

"I would like to stress having the county partner with the local municipalities such as the City of Ashburn, because the grant is based in part on population," said Gearhart. "The more people you serve, the more likely you are to get the grant."

In other action, the commission:

Reappointed Clerk Mary Wynn and County Attorney John Holland.

Reappointed Public Safety Director Jimmy Wynn and Road Superintendent Gregg Mathis.

Appointed Hall to serve on the South Georgia Regional Development Center board.

Adopted a resolution to renew a $500,000 loan for use on road projects.

Approved borrowing $60,000 over three years to buy an ambulance under the Association of County Commissioners of Georgia leasing program. (The initial payment on the $84,492 ambulance is in the current budget.)

Tabled a request from Probate Court employee Triscilla Bryan to transfer to the sheriff's department.

Appointed Joe Wright to fill the term of the late Tax Assessor Tommy Wideman through Dec. 5, 2007.

React to this story:


Trending Video