Staff Reports

ADEL -- Voted on by the league coaches, the 2001 All-Region 2-AA Football Team was recently released.

Cook High Hornet senior wide receiver Deonto McCormick was named the Region 2-AA Player of the Year. Besides that honor, McCormick was a first-team pick at wide receiver and made the league's all-academic team, as well.

"Deonto is the ultimate student-athlete. Not only is he an outstanding football and baseball player, but he is also an outstanding student as well," Cook head coach Michael Pollock said. "Every time he touches the ball, he has the ability to take it the distance. He is going to have a great college career and will make the city of Adel proud to watch him play at the next level."

Several other area players were also honored by the Region 2-AA head coaches.

Cook's Vincent Brown and Berrien's Deon Wooten were two of the three players picked as Offensive Players of the Year.

Other first-team offensive selections from the Tiftarea included Cook's Demarrow Byron at fullback; Jason Folson of Berrien at center; and offensive linemen Zach Giddens of Irwin County, as well as Jared Edmonson and Beau Stalvey of Cook High.

Cook High defensive back Cornelius Brown was one of the two players picked as the league's Defensive Players of the Year.

Joining him on the first team from the Tiftarea are Hornet defensive linemen Brian McCall and Mastafa Tippins; linebackers Clayton Sirmans of Irwin County and Roshawn Seymore of Cook; and Wooten as a defensive back.

Tiftarea representatives on the second team offense are Cook quarterback Thomas Arnold, Irwin running back Chris Jones, fullback Brown of Cook, Blake Moore of Berrien and Chris Davis of Irwin at wide receiver, Irwin's Maurice Williams at tight end. Along the offensive line are Berrien's Clay Davis and Josh Moore, as well as Cook's Will Kelley and Kenny Taylor.

Davis of Berrien also was a second-team pick along the defensive line. He is joined by Irwin's Kenneth Jackson and Terrence White, as well as Cook's Travis Johnson.

Oscar Paulk of Irwin and Briand Williams of Cook were two of the second-team linebackers. Jon Lang and Blake Moore of Berrien, as well as Cook's Jeremy Stanford are in the second-team defensive backfield.

Cook's Vincent Brown and Irwin County's Wade Martin were the Special Team Players of the Year.

Other members of the all-academic team included Jesse McMillan, Kevin Moore, Chris Hughes, Blake Moore, Josh Moore of Berrien and Giddens.

Irwin County defensive end John Russell was one of six players picked for the region's All-Freshman team.

React to this story:


Trending Video