TIFTON -- City council posts are up for grabs around the area in Tuesday elections.


In Tifton, incumbent Dick Chalfant opposes Marianna Keesee for the District 1 City Council post. District 3 incumbent Roosevelt Russell is unopposed. Voting will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. Nov. 8 at Election Central in the old gym behind the Kent Administration Building.


In Omega, three council posts are undecided. Incumbent Joe Turner takes on challenger James "Jim" Yount for City Council Post 1. Incumbent Rubye Meders opposes Stephanie A. Wilson for City Council Post 2. Incumbent Cecile L. Gilliard is running against Dickie L. Robinson for City Council Post 3. Incumbent James "Jamie" G. Patrick III is running unopposed for City Council Post 4. In Omega, the election will be held from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. at the Omega Clubhouse.


In Fitzgerald, incumbent Mayor Gerald H. Thompson will take on two challengers for his job, Prentiss Brown and Herbert L. Jones. Wilkie F. Glenn and Frederick "Rick" Jones are competing to fill the unexpired term of Blaine Bostelman for the city councilman at-large position. Jason L. Holt and Theodore R. "Ted" Wallace will battle for the city council first ward west district post. Incumbent John K. Fletcher will take on challenger James W. Davis III for the council second ward east district office.

Incumbents Albert Webb of the council at large east district, John Hageman of the council at large west district, Calvin J. "Pee Wee" Wilcox of the council third ward east district and Vernie G. Horton of the council fourth ward west district are each running unopposed. Also in Fitzgerald, incumbents David Griffin, Robert Leverson and William P. "Bill" Herlovich are running unopposed for their positions on the Water, Light and Bond Commission.

Voting in Fitzgerald will be held at the new fire department on East Pine Street. Also, in Ben Hill County a referendum is on the ballots to decide whether to continue a one percent sales tax for another year.


In Ocilla, incumbent Mayor Lamar Royal will take on challenger Billy Leverett. Incumbent Lisa Cook will battle challenger Jimmy Cox for city council post one. The election is being held at Ocilla City Hall on North Irwin Avenue.


In Nashville, Keith Jackson will challenge incumbent Billy Reterbush for city council post four. Incumbent Randy Lane will take on Jerry R. Lipsey for city council post five. Incumbent Virgil Hicox will compete against challenger Tim P. King Sr. Nashville elections will be held at the County Farm on County Farm Road.

Ray City

In Ray City, incumbent Mayor Carl Canon will battle against Kathy Webb for the mayoral post. Two incumbent city council members, Dolly Martin Dupree and Robert Mikell, are both running unopposed. Ray City elections will be held at City Hall on Main Street.


In Alapaha, Kenneth Griner and James Edward Boone are vying for the city council post 2 office. Incumbent city councilmen Ronnie Carter and Timothy Smith Jr. are running unopposed. Alapaha elections will be held at City Hall at the intersection of South George Street and Northeast Railroad Street.

Turner County

In Turner County, voters will decide whether to extend a one cent sales tax. There are no Ashburn city elections.

To contact reporter Dusty Vassey, call 382-4321, ext. 208.

React to this story:


Trending Video