TIFTON -- Led by Players of the Year, Ronald Camon of Berrien and Ronalda Pierce of Turner, the 2001-02 All-Tiftarea basketball teams feature a number of players that displayed well-rounded games this past season.

Pierce earned Player of the Year honors for the third straight year following a junior campaign that saw her average 22.8 points, 16.2 rebounds, 8.3 blocks, 6.2 assists and 5.3 steals per game.

Another junior, Cook's Jazz Covington was the only other player in the Tiftarea to average over 20 points per contest. She put up averages of 20.5 points, 13.5 rebounds and three steals per game.

Tift County Lady Devil Shanice Dawson is another junior that had a strong year. She averaged 16.3 points and eight rebounds per game. She also scored 20 points or more in eight different games this year.

Lace Burdette joins teammate Pierce on the first team. She averaged 10.2 points, 7.3 rebounds, 5.2 assists and 3.1 steals per game.

Finally, junior Latoya White was the main cog for the Irwin County Lady Indians. She averaged 10.5 points, 7.7 assists and 4.8 rebounds per contest.

The second team is composed of Kally Brown of Tift County, Wikneka Gorsuch of Cook, Jennifer Harper of Berrien, Lindsey Shiver of Tiftarea Academy and Taylor Youngblood of Worth County.

Eight honorable mention players were also chosen. They were Jokelra Copeland of Worth, Deidre Gamble of Irwin, Turrelle Jones of Cook, Kristy Lawson of Turner, Kia Lewis of Irwin, Darby Pilkinton of Tiftarea Academy, Stacy Waters of Cook and Kimberly Williams of Worth.

Cook's Paul Dobson was the Coach of the Year.

Camon led a Berrien team that only had two players returning from last year's top seven back to the state quarterfinals. He averaged 14.6 points, 9.4 rebounds, four assists and 3.4 steals per game in 2001-02.

Nelson Dopson of Irwin County had the highest point per game average of any boys player in the area with 18.2. He also put up averages of 6.1 assists, 5.2 rebounds and 2.6 steals per contest. Besides those numbers, Dopson made 82 percent of his free throws.

Cornelius Brown of Cook helped lead the Hornets to the second round of the state. He averaged 14.2 points, 6.5 rebounds, 3.5 steals and 3.2 assists per game.

On his way to averaging 13 points per game this year, Aaron Gibbs of Tift County was chosen as the Most Valuable Player for the Region 1-AAAAA champions.

The final first team member is Worth County's Jacobi White. He averaged 18 points, five rebounds and two assists per game.

After finishing off its run to the Georgia Dome during football season, Fitzgerald's basketball team settled down to go 9-8 overall. That included wins over eventual region champions Tift and Irwin.

Terrell Holland was a big reason for that success. He leads the All-Tiftarea second team and is joined by Marcus Jackson of Irwin, Ronald Nelson of Turner, Chris Powell of Tift and Maurice Williams of Irwin.

There were also eight players picked to the honorable mention team. They were T.J. Bryant of Irwin, Demarrow Byron of Cook, Rodney Jackson of Tift, Jon Lang of Berrien, Michael Sapp of Cook, Sheldon Smith of Turner, Jason Teel of Tiftarea Academy and Rashad Walker of Turner.

The coach of the year was Irwin County's Chuck Folker.

React to this story:


Trending Video