TIFTON — Milton “M. Jay” Hall Jr. defeated incumbent Frank Sayles Jr. in the race for Tifton City Council District 4 seat in the Nov. 5 election.

Hall got 149 votes to Sayles’ 91 votes.

“I just want to thank all my supporters, the voters for the prayers and for all the support,” said Hall. “Definitely want to thank Tifton for showing up tonight and let them know that I’m ready to serve this community to my full capabilities, especially for District 4 and Tifton as a whole. I’m very thankful for all my friends and family that showed up and I just thank Tifton.”

Sayles said he appreciated people coming out to vote and young people getting involved in the process.

“I don’t think it’s anything against the city,” he said. “It’s just people getting involved.”

Tifton Mayor Julie Smith and District 2 Council member Jack Folk ran unopposed for their second four year terms. Smith garnered 478 votes and Folk garnered 113 votes.

Results for the Omega city elections were not available as of press time.

Omega has two seats up for reelection: the office of mayor, which is currently held by Ray Hunt, Jr., and the city council seat representing Post 5, which is currently held by Ernest Harris. Both have qualified for the election.

Chuck White has also qualified to run for mayor and Delonda Holly Allen has also qualified to run for Post 5.

React to this story:


Recommended for you