Tifton Gazette


March 20, 2014

Mr. ABAC competition set for April 2

TIFTON — Fifteen men at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College will compete for the title of Mr. ABAC in the 23rd annual competition at 7 p.m. on April 2 in Howard Auditorium.  The theme for this year’s event is “Men in Uniform.”  The contest is sponsored, directed and produced by the Family and Consumer Sciences Club. 

Tickets are $5 per person in advance and will be available in the School of Human Sciences office, Bowen Hall 205. If the event is not a sellout, tickets will also be available for $7 at the door.

Contestants will compete in casual attire, formal attire and interview categories. Contestants will also be judged on a written timed essay.

The top contestant will receive a plaque and a cash prize.   Contestant, interview and essay awards will be given. The Family and Consumer Sciences Club members will also choose “Fun Awards” that will be presented to contestants.

Students involved in this year’s competition include Ethan Amason, a communications major from Demorest, sponsored by the ABAC Ambassadors; Daniel Andrews, a diversified agriculture major from Jackson, S.C., sponsored by the Ag Business Club; Cole Brogdon, a diversified agriculture major from Irwinton, sponsored by the ABAC Cattlemen’s Association; Douglas Burnette, a rural studies – politics and modern culture major from Cordele, sponsored by the Rural Studies Club; Zachary Council, a middle grades education – social science major, sponsored by the Student Professional Association of Georgia Educators (SPAGE); Ronnie Few, a diversified agriculture major from Covington, sponsored by the ABAC Agronomy Club; Sam Jones, a business administration major from Lawrenceville, sponsored by the Baptist Collegiate Ministries; Ben Lineberger, a diversified agriculture major from Perry, sponsored by the ABAC Alumni Association; and Seth Mann, a rural studies – business and economic development major from Tifton, sponsored by ABAC’s Alpha Beta Gamma International Business Honor Society.

Other contestants include Ross McClellan, a biology major from Tifton, sponsored by the ABAC Honors Program; Alfredo Munoz, a rural studies - social and community development major from Pelham, sponsored by ABAC’s Stafford Hall; John Pope, a crop production and agribusiness major from Moultrie, sponsored by the ABAC Agribusiness Club; Ryan Starling, a forestry major from LaGrange, sponsored by the ABAC Collegiate FFA; Shad Steptoe, a music major from Douglas, sponsored by ABAC’s Music Department; and Kevin Vantrees, a diversified agriculture major from Douglasville, sponsored by ABAC’s Sigma Alpha sorority.

Text Only
Local News

Local Sports
20140801 Tift volleyball.JPG

The 2014 Tift County Lady Devils volleyball team. Summer Bennett, Chat Butts, Carolina Carter, Kaleigh Hobby, Molly Jones, Savannah Kendrick, Mariena McCullough, Dail Adaway, Vanity Golson, Alex Miller, Taylor Nimmo, Amanda Riddle, Logan Seeman, Taylor Cross, Karina Delgado, Audrey McElhaney, Madison Spivey, Julianna Cross and Olivia Thomas Assistants are Dana Fletcher and Chance Benson. Head coach is Courtney Mitchell.

Police Reports
Your Agenda