Tifton Gazette

Breaking News


September 16, 2012

Berrien businessman among ag honorees

TIFTON — Organizers of the agricultural leadership program Advancing Georgia’s Leaders in Agriculture have chosen 22 professionals from across the state to participate in the program’s inaugural class.

Advancing Georgia’s Leaders in Agriculture is housed in and supported by the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences. AGLA is also supported by numerous agricultural and forestry organizations and associations throughout Georgia.

AGLA’s founders aim to educate and empower Georgia’s agricultural leaders to become effective advocates for the largest economic drivers in Georgia — the state’s agricultural and forestry industries, said Rochelle Strickland, the program’s founding director and a public service assistant in the college.

“We are excited about the group of individuals that have been selected to participate in class I of AGLA,” Strickland said. “They are a high quality, diverse and committed group of professionals who will play an integral role in not only establishing this program, but in the continued growth and development of our industry.”

AGLA is designed to bring together leaders from all segments of the state’s agriculture and forestry industries. Over a two-year period, they will help one another understand and analyze the issues facing their industries, as well as challenges that may emerge in the future.

AGLA’s inaugural class members are:

Brent Allen of the UGA Cooperative Extension Service, Johnson County

    Brandon Ashley of the Georgia Farm Bureau Federation, Bibb County

    Tim Bland of Newport Timber, Bulloch County

    Scott Cochran of House of Raeford Farms, Franklin County

    Sarah Cook of the Center of Innovation for Agribusiness, Turner County •

    Kevin Cronic of House of Raeford Farms, AAgribusiness, Turner County

Kevin Cronic of House of Raeford Farms, Anderson, S.C.

Steven Gibson of the UGA CAES Business Office, Clarke County

Jennifer Harris of White Oak Pastures, Early County

Jon Harris of AgSouth Farm Credit, Pierce County

Jutt Howard of North Georgia Turf, Heard County

Craig Howell of Harris Moran Seed Company, Berrien County

Jesse Johnson of the Southern Land Exchange, Oglethorpe County

 Trey Joyner of the Georgia Department of Agriculture, Dekalb County

Sherry Morris of the Georgia Green Industry Association, Fannin County

Duane Myers of Kroger, Henry County

Tate O’Rourke of U.S. Senator Johnny Isakson’s office, Hall County

Maggie Potter of the Georgia Department of Economic Development, Muscogee County    

Mark Risse of UGA CAES, Oconee County

Amanda Tedrow of UGA Cooperative Extension, Clarke County

 Rebecca Thomas of UGA Cooperative Extension, Chattooga County

Chris Wheeler of AGrowStar, Houston County

Derick Wooten of Rocky Hammock Farms, Jeff Davis County

Those seeking more information about the Advancing Georgia’s Leaders in Agriculture can visit www.agla.caes.uga.edu .

(Merritt Melancon is a news editor with the University of Georgia College of Agricultural and Environmental Sciences.)

Text Only
Local News

Local Sports
20140801 Tift volleyball.JPG

The 2014 Tift County Lady Devils volleyball team. Summer Bennett, Chat Butts, Carolina Carter, Kaleigh Hobby, Molly Jones, Savannah Kendrick, Mariena McCullough, Dail Adaway, Vanity Golson, Alex Miller, Taylor Nimmo, Amanda Riddle, Logan Seeman, Taylor Cross, Karina Delgado, Audrey McElhaney, Madison Spivey, Julianna Cross and Olivia Thomas Assistants are Dana Fletcher and Chance Benson. Head coach is Courtney Mitchell.

Police Reports
Your Agenda