Tifton Gazette


April 9, 2014

Enigma student wins Top Academic Award at ABAC Honors Day

TIFTON — Jordan N. Gill, a rural studies major from Enigma, was named the top academic student at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College during Wednesday’s Honors Day ceremony.

Gill received the J. G. Woodroof Scholar Award, given annually to a student at Honors Day in recognition of top academic standing at the institution.

Woodroof was president of ABAC from 1933-34. Each of the 31 units of the University System of Georgia selects a top student as the Academic Recognition Day Student of the Year who is also honored in a proclamation by the Georgia General Assembly.

While completing her studies at ABAC, Gill was involved in Phi Theta Kappa and finished two internships with the Georgia Alzheimer’s Association and the Georgia Museum of Agriculture. She also participated in a study abroad trip to Nicaragua. She graduated summa cum laude in December, maintaining a perfect 4.0 grade point average and being named to the President’s List each semester at ABAC.

Before attending ABAC, Gill was enrolled in a home-school program and received her

General Education Diploma. She currently attends graduate school at Valdosta State University. During the ceremony, the top student in each school of study received the Award of

Distinction. Winners for each school were as follows: Troy S. Highsmith, a diversified agriculture major from Wray, School of Agriculture and Natural Resources; Kimberly K. Cawley, a rural studies--business and economic development major from Ashburn, Stafford School of Business; Molly K. McBride, an early childhood education major from Fayetteville; School of Human Sciences; Andrew E. Smith, a rural studies--politics and modern cultures major from Folkston; School of Liberal Arts; Savannah L. Brown, a nursing major from Wray, School of Nursing and Health Sciences; and Sarah A. Rooks, a biology major from Ashburn, School of Science and Mathematics..

A total of 43 discipline awards were also presented to students who excelled in their individual disciplines. Discipline award winners from the School of Agriculture and Natural Resources included Jodie E. Stringer from Thomasville, Agribusiness and Agricultural Economics; Jana E. Hamilton from Smyrna, Agriculture; Lacy L. Powell from Covington, Agricultural Education; Logan C. Moore of Chula, Agriscience and Environmental Systems; Michele I. Moncrief from Bogart, Animal Science; Jennifer M. Rhodes of Marietta, Environmental Horticulture Technology; Dalton K. Brown of Canton, Forest Resources; Jessica L. Bell from Sycamore, Plant Sciences; Katie L. Thompson of Toccoa, Wildlife Technology; Joshua A. Willis of Bogart, Diversified Agriculture; Jeremy D. Erwin from Longwood, Fla., Natural Resource Management--Forestry; Angela R. Spinks from Fitzgerald, Natural Resource Management--Wildlife; and Jacob A. Finn of Fortson, Turfgrass and Golf Course Management.

In the Stafford School of Business, the Business Administration discipline award was

presented to Seth A. Mann from Tifton. Matthew A. Pace of Lyerly received the Economics award. The Information Technology award went to Joseph N. Peacock from Tifton. Elizabeth S. Mastrario of Ashburn received the Rural Studies--Business and Economic Development award.

Discipline award winners in the School of Liberal Arts included Joan D. Cordova from Tifton, Art; Saul G. Hernandez from Ocilla, English; Frederick P. Gehle from Moultrie, History; Grace S. Holland from Tifton, Journalism; Kezia D. Green of Sylvester, Music; Hawaith M. Allen of Omega, Political Science; Clara-Grace A. Coker from Ashburn, Spanish; Andrew E. Smith of Folkston, Rural Studies--Politics and Modern Cultures; and Brenda N. Doss from Tifton, Rural Studies--Writing and Communication.

The School of Science and Mathematics presented Alisha M. Kavouklis from Thomasville with the discipline award in Allied Health. The discipline award in Biology went to Danielle B. Simmons from Vienna. Kelly M. Delgado from Omega received the discipline award in Chemistry. The discipline award in Engineering went to Jose Y. Santana from Norcross. Kaylee E. Tillery from Tifton received the discipline award in Mathematics. Eduardo D. Moreno of Moultrie received the Biology Pre-Professional award. The Pharmacy Pre-Professional award was presented to Caitlin M. Slaughter of Pelham.

Discipline award winners from the School of Human Sciences included James Eric Walker of Tifton, Early Childhood Education; Zachary P. Council from Camilla, Middle Grades Education; and Amber R. Cromer from Tifton, P-12 Education. Victor G. Gonzalez from Statenville received the Criminal Justice award, and the award in Criminal Justice (Law Enforcement) went to Vernon C. Poole of Tifton.    The Psychology award went to Lindsey R. Ricketts from Tifton. Courtney S. Bailey from Tunnel Hill received the award in Family and

Consumer Sciences. The discipline award for Physical Education went to Joseph W. Wilson from Sparks. Lauryn E. Taylor of Moultrie received the Human Services award. The award for the Rural Studies--Social and Community Development went to Mackenzie Sirmans from Douglas.

Text Only
Local News

Local Sports
Tift County T logo

Police Reports
Your Agenda
AP Video
Disabled Veterans Memorial Nearing Completion Last Mass Lynching in U.S. Remains Unsolved Home-sharing Programs Help Seniors Ex-NYC Mayor: US Should Allow Flights to Israel Clinton: "AIDS-Free Generation Within Our Reach" Judge Ponders Overturning Colo. Gay Marriage Ban Airlines Halt Travel to Israel Amid Violence NYPD Chief Calls for 'use of Force' Retraining VA Nominee McDonald Goes Before Congress Bush: Don't Worry, Sugarland Isn't Breaking Up US Official: Most Migrant Children to Be Removed Police Probing Brooklyn Bridge Flag Switch CDC Head Concerned About a Post-antibiotic Era Raw: First Lady Says `Drink Up' More Water Courts Conflicted Over Healthcare Law Holder Urges Bipartisanship on Immigration Raw: Truck, Train Crash Leads to Fireball US Airlines Cancel Israel Flights Obama Signs Workforce Training Law Crash Victims' Remains Reach Ukraine-held City
House Ads
Hyperlocal Search
Premier Guide
Find a business

Walking Fingers
Maps, Menus, Store hours, Coupons, and more...
Premier Guide
Seasonal Content
Business Marquee
Weather Radar
Sen. Chambliss addresses farm bill in Tifton
Riding the Steam Train at Ga. Museum of Agriculture
Nature's Beauty in a Tifton parking lot
Peanut Prices Remain Strong