Tifton Gazette

Breaking News


June 24, 2014

Early voting begins June 30 for primary runoff election

TIFTON — Early voting for the primary runoff election starts June 30 and will continue through July 18 from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday-Friday at the old gym on the corner of Fourth Street and Chesnutt Avenue.

There will be no Saturday voting for the runoff. A voter can vote absentee by mail or early in person. If a UOCAVA ballot was requested for the primary, it was automatically issued by June 7. If a UOCAVA ballot was not requested for the primary, the deadline to request one for the runoff is July 18.

There will only be one local race between Keith Barr and Richard Golden for Tift County Board of Education District 4 on the Republican ballot.

Other races include:

- Democratic ballot - Alisha Thomas Morgan and Valarie D. Wilson for state school superintendent.

- Republican ballot - Michael L. "Mike" Buck and Richard L. Woods of Ocilla for state school superintendent, and J.H. "Jack" Kingston and David A. Perdue for the United States Senate seat.

The primary runoff election is July 22. Voters will need to go to their precinct to vote from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Election Supervisor Sandi Fallin explained that if a citizen voted Republican in the primary, they will vote Republican or nonpartisan in the runoff. If a citizen voted Democrat in the primary, they will vote Democrat or nonpartisan in the runoff. If a citizen voted nonpartisan in the primary, they will vote Democrat, Republican or nonpartisan in the runoff. Fallin noted Tift County does not have a nonpartisan race.

If a voter did not vote in the primary at all, they can still vote in the runoff. They will choose a Democrat or Republican ballot or a nonpartisan ballot if there is a nonpartisan race in their county.

A voter's party choice in the primary doesn't have any bearing on their choices in the November general election. Voters are not restricted by party in any way. The general election is Nov. 4. The deadline to register to vote in that election will be Oct. 6.

To contact reporter Latasha Ford, call 382-4321.


Text Only
Local News

Local Sports
20140801 Tift volleyball.JPG

The 2014 Tift County Lady Devils volleyball team. Summer Bennett, Chat Butts, Carolina Carter, Kaleigh Hobby, Molly Jones, Savannah Kendrick, Mariena McCullough, Dail Adaway, Vanity Golson, Alex Miller, Taylor Nimmo, Amanda Riddle, Logan Seeman, Taylor Cross, Karina Delgado, Audrey McElhaney, Madison Spivey, Julianna Cross and Olivia Thomas Assistants are Dana Fletcher and Chance Benson. Head coach is Courtney Mitchell.

Police Reports
Your Agenda