Tifton Gazette

Breaking News


February 3, 2014

Morris to chair Ga. Peanut Commission


Armond Morris, a peanut farmer from Ocilla, was elected chairman of the Georgia Peanut Commission during the monthly board meeting in June. This is Morris’ 13th term as chairman of the commission. He has also served as chairman of the board previously in 1996 and 1997, 2003 and since 2005.

“I look forward to serving Georgia’s peanut growers as chairman in 2014. It is a pleasure to serve peanut producers in the state of Georgia and the commission is continually working to serve all peanut farmers in the state through research, promotion and education,” Morris says. “Also, the commission has been working on the farmers’ behalf throughout the farm bill process and I’m pleased to see the progress made recently by the House of Representatives. The Georgia Peanut Commission encourages the Senate to take the 2014 Farm Bill Conference Report up as soon as possible.”

Other officers elected during the board meeting include Joe Boddiford, Sylvania,  as vice chairman; and Rodney Dawson, Hawkinsville, as treasurer.

Board members Tim Burch, Newton and Donald Chase, Oglethorpe, represent District 1 and District 5, respectively. The peanut producing counties of Georgia are divided into five districts in which peanut farmers elect a representative to serve on the Georgia Peanut Commission board.

Text Only
Local News

Local Sports
20140801 Tift volleyball.JPG

The 2014 Tift County Lady Devils volleyball team. Summer Bennett, Chat Butts, Carolina Carter, Kaleigh Hobby, Molly Jones, Savannah Kendrick, Mariena McCullough, Dail Adaway, Vanity Golson, Alex Miller, Taylor Nimmo, Amanda Riddle, Logan Seeman, Taylor Cross, Karina Delgado, Audrey McElhaney, Madison Spivey, Julianna Cross and Olivia Thomas Assistants are Dana Fletcher and Chance Benson. Head coach is Courtney Mitchell.

Police Reports
Your Agenda